Quail Hollow

Reviews and feedback for courses and other game content.
stillgolfing
Turning Pro

Quail Hollow

Post by stillgolfing »

Since the PGA tourney is being played at Quail Hollow this weekend, I thought I would play the PGA2000 and the Links2003 version concurrently. The thing that impressed me most about the PGA2000 version was it's photo realism. It stands up against the Links rendition in this respect. This was a complete surprise to me as I had assumed to date, from playing about 20 of the original 33 PGA 2000 courses (most of these a number of times over 10 or so years) and about 15 of the Top Four Hundred and also a number of holes on 5 new courses I recently downloaded, that there was no way to design around the "typical" PGA2000 Architect rendering style, which I have always termed pen and ink and water color artistic.
Being an amature artist myself, I never considered that style a bad thing, but in the end, because I have always found the PGA2000 swing interface difficult to use (too small too quick), I deferred to Links2003 as my Golf simulation of choice, very realistic looking and easier to play at the higher levels (3 different swing meters and the size can be enlarged if you find the meter is too small at higher screen resolutions).
This course will be my first addition to my PGA2000 top one hundred (hope to fill it up over the next few months). Kudos to Terry Grayson. I will be checking out his other courses (if there are any) and hopefully there will be some feedback regarding other designers who have a mastered this more realistic rendering style.
Cheers, Dave
When dyslexic golfers hit a wild shot, do they yell erof !? .... stillgolfing
Stan Nehilla
Legend of Golf

Re: Quail Hollow

Post by Stan Nehilla »

Here's a list of Terry's courses:
The Appalachian 7/28/2001
Matterhorn 9/10/2001
Wonderland (DC2) 12/13/2001
Grayson's Point 1/18/2002
Lawndale's Willow Hollow 2/25/2002
Pine Mountain Golf Club 5/9/2002
Leviathan 6/18/2002