Terrain questions

The course architect, design theory, and current projects.
steggs11
Weekend Duffer

Terrain questions

Post by steggs11 »

Thanks for the terrain tutorial, which although it was a bit out of date gave me enough pointers to get my terrain loaded.
A couple of questions I have though:

1) My elevation data includes objects (ie not surface, but canopy). This means I am having to manually level bulges that are trees or groups of trees, before replacing them with tree objects in the game. Is there a good way of doing this, as the ways I am trying are really not having great results where the trees/bushes are on a slope?
Specifically, is there a way that you can level to a given height, or rotate a selection to match a slope once you have flattened it out?

2) As I said in my intro post, I am a complete novice and I have made a rookie mistake ... my course is situated right near the borders of the terrain data I have imported. That means that if I hit a big slice off the 14th tee the ball might just disappear off the edge of the map, and the overall aesthetic is not quite what I was going for! So ... is there a way I can import more terrain once I have started, or do I need to start again (one corner of my course is very close to the edge of the terrain tiles I imported). I have some sort of idea that if I can extract the dxf file, I may be able to convert it back into ASC (which is the format the UK Defra survey data comes in) and weave it with other tiles, but I am not sure how to extract the dxf including all terrain changes I have made.